Traveling with Droidie

My latest trip is coming to a close. Here’s a list of observations on the tools I carried with me on this trip.

The big stuff: Asus Eee PC 1005HA, Droid, iPhone, Kindle.

Only used the Kindle and iPhone a little.

It would be nice to have a bit of web space for me to share data betw the Droid and my desktop. Dropbox isn’t available for Android yet, they just announced its availability for the iPhone.

Surprising that Google is sharing info betw my Droid and my laptop. When I went to movies.google.com on the flight from Atlanta to Boston (it had wifi, not free), it showed me the movies for Atlanta. The only way it could have known I had been in Atlanta was from GPS, I never did anything with either computer to tell it that I had gone through Atlanta. I didn’t mind. But the computer reverted to California for the movies site when I got to Boston.

Droid is a nice but glitchy computer. Hope they smooth it out.

But because of its glitches I tripped over Voice Search which is fantastic. Very accurate, and quite useful. As long as you’re in a quiet place. It freaks out in a cafe or on a noisy street.

I used Google Maps to guide me on a walk from my hotel to Nieman Lab. The GPS is very good and the integration of the GPS with maps is perfect.

The Asus is a much better travel computer than the MacBook Pro — primary reason: battery. There’s a quantitative difference that means you don’t look for power outlets. I’m writing this in the airport lounge at Logan and some people have their computers connected to power outlets. When I got here all the plugs were filled. I’ve been using the computer for about 45 minutes, and only used 5 percent of the power. I’ll make it all the way to Calif on this charge.

I’m using Google’s free wifi in Logan. Thanks!

It’s slow. You have to wonder if they added capacity when they made it free? Or are we all sharing the same pipe they used when it was for-pay?

The biggest bug I found in my new editorial tools is that when the timezone changes the connection to WordPress screws up. I think what’s happening is that it thinks I’m scheduling the post for future publication (because it sees a pubDate is in the future). The problem is cured by hacking the pubdate back a few hours. I’ll have to add the concept of a timezone difference to the tool. I think this will trip up a lot of people.

On the next trip I’ll debug the connection to Tumblr and Posterous.

Posted in Droid. 13 Comments »

13 Responses to “Traveling with Droidie”

  1. Kevin C. Tofel Says:

    Good summary of the tools and shortcomings. One thought: couldn’t you use the web version of Dropbox for now? It’s certainly more clunky than a dedicated Android client, but I just logged on with an older Android device with no probs. I changed from the mobile site to the regular site and pulled down and MP3 file I had stored there — listening to it on my G1 now. It probably depends on what you want to do with Dropbox, but I thought I’d mention that the web interface is usable on Android.

  2. Brent Logan Says:

    Google knows your location by your IP address, no other communication is necessary. I discovered this when I was looking up the weather and Comcast/Verizon (can’t remember which) was routing my web access through Canada. All I got was Canadian weather.

    Services like whatismyipaddress.com can tell you your IP address.

    Ads are also location aware. After all, isn’t it highly coincidental that some mother in my hometown learned a secret to whiten her teeth. Then I’ll connect through the corporate proxy in another state, and amazingly, that serendipitous mother has followed me there.

    • Dave Winer Says:

      Interesting, but…

      When I was logging onto the movies.google.com site, I was on an AirTran flight using gogointernet.com.

      Right now as I write this I’m on a Virgin America flight using the same service.

      whatismyipaddress.com reports that I’m connecting through a proxy server at 12.130.118.5. It reports my IP address as “172.19.131.139, 10.22.5.139”

      Why I have two IP addresses I have no idea.

      According to the Google map, that puts me in “Richardson, Texas United States” (which of course isn’t where the plane is now, nor is it going anywhere near Richardson, en route from Boston to SFO).

      This is fun! 🙂

      Now let’s go to http://movies.google.com/

      It’s showing me movies in Woburn, MA.

      Which happens to be the last location I gave it manually.

      So the bit of Atlanta magic probably did somehow come from GPS.

      But I’m not sure of course.

      • StarrWulfe Says:

        12.130.118.5 is an external IP from AT&T… They run the AirCell service that Virgin subsribes to provide in-flight wi-fi.

        AT&T WorldNet Services ATT (NET-12-0-0-0-1)
        12.0.0.0 – 12.255.255.255
        CI – Aircell LLC SID-15031 ATTWH-12-130-116-0-22-0709263746 (NET-12-130-116-0-1)
        12.130.116.0 – 12.130.119.255

        10.22.5.139 is your local IP for the network onboard the plane you were on.

        172.19.131.139 the WAN IP for the plane to ground network itself. That whole IP range is actually reserved for special uses (like being used for in-flight wifi or long range private WAN nets.)

        IANA manages the IP range and I guess leases them out to the airlines??

        OrgName: Internet Assigned Numbers Authority
        OrgID: IANA
        Address: 4676 Admiralty Way, Suite 330
        City: Marina del Rey
        StateProv: CA
        PostalCode: 90292-6695
        Country: US

        NetRange: 172.16.0.0 – 172.31.255.255
        CIDR: 172.16.0.0/12
        NetName: IANA-BBLK-RESERVED
        NetHandle: NET-172-16-0-0-1
        Parent: NET-172-0-0-0-0
        NetType: IANA Special Use
        NameServer: BLACKHOLE-1.IANA.ORG
        NameServer: BLACKHOLE-2.IANA.ORG
        Comment: This block is reserved for special purposes.
        Comment: Please see RFC 1918 for additional information.
        Comment: http://www.arin.net/reference/rfc/rfc1918.txt
        RegDate: 1994-03-15
        Updated: 2007-11-27

  3. Traveling with electronics « News, Software and All you need Says:

    […] See the Droidie site for observations on the tools I carried with me on my latest trip. Comentários (0) […]

  4. Stanley Krute Says:

    Battery life really is a magical good thing. I charge my Asus netbook all night, then run around with it all day, shutting the lid to put it to sleep whenever not using No plug-ins required.

    Just got a client a GREAT thin, light, pretty 15.6″ notebook from Asus. Claims a LONGER (12 hrs … so I think of it as 9 or 10) battery life than their netbooks. $800. Very fabulous fun machine. Asus UL50AG-A2 thin and light 15.6-inch black laptop : http://1yto.sl.pt/

    — stan

  5. David Weinberger Says:

    Not sure where to post this, so rather randomly: The battery cover of my Motorola Droid has started falling off. Yes, I’m sliding it up all the way until it catches. But it’s come off twice so far just in the course of wearing it in the official Verizon belt holder. Fortunately both times I was in my house. so I could find the cover. Next time it’ll be a small disaster. So, I’ve now taped it on, which is not exactly the mark of a quality piece of equipment.

    Anyone else having the same problem?

  6. The Droid battery cover problem « DROIDIE Says:

    […] Droid battery cover problem November 20, 2009 — Dave Winer David Weinberger writes: “The battery cover of my Motorola Droid has started falling off. Yes, I’m sliding it […]

  7. An open letter to Google | Snapler Says:

    […] I am a Google user. My primary email account is on GMail. I just bought a Droid, and started a Droid blog to help other people get started. I like it primarily because it connects so well with Google […]

  8. An open letter to Google « News, Software and All you need Says:

    […] I am a Google user. My primary email account is on GMail. I just bought a Droid, and started a Droid blog to help other people get started. I like it primarily because it connects so well with Google […]

  9. Greenbid News » An open letter to Google Says:

    […] I am a Google user. My primary email account is on GMail. I just bought a Droid, and started a Droid blog to help other people get started. I like it primarily because it connects so well with Google […]


Leave a Reply

